回答

  • 与标准光学编码器相比,AMT系列电容式编码器的工作原理有何不同?

    光学编码器采用很小的LED来使光线经过磁盘,磁盘的指定间隔处刻有凹槽。这些间隔决定了编码器的分辨率。一旦光线通过这些刻痕,光敏接收器会接收信号并将其作为位置数据发送出去。


    AMT时间常数表

    AMT编码器的工作方式与此相似,只是它借助LED传输的是电场,而不是光线。替代光盘的是PCB转子,PCB转子中有一个可以调节电场的金属跟踪正弦模。随后,接收端将调制后的信号回传至发射器,发射器通过专用的ASIC将该信号与原始信号进行比对。与板载MCU结合使用后,很多AMT产品的ASIC性能均有提升。正是由于这种设计,AMT电容式编码器才能比市场上的其他编码器提供更高的精度和灵活性。该转子PCB专为高位置分辨率而设计。这种较高的基础分辨率使ASIC和MCU能够通过计算得出一个宽泛的最终分辨率范围,以便客户从中选择。分辨率的选择过程在ASIC和MCU中完成,所以客户仅需购买一个零件编号,即可获得支持多种分辨率的产品。


    AMT时间常数表
  • 我是否需要更改系统才能从光学编码器转为电容式编码器?

    AMT电容式编码器输出波形的特征与任何光学编码器均相同,因此可以无缝顺畅转变。每个AMT编码器都有正交A/B信号和索引脉冲。这些是异相90度的5 V逻辑波形,用以表明旋转方向。

    事实上,AMT电容式编码器所需的外部电路可能比光学编码器更少。很多编码器使用集电极开路输出,这会令输出晶体管的集电极持续浮动(既不高也不低)。要让编码器工作,您需要一个上拉电阻器来将信号拉至供给电压,然后,有功输出会将下拉信号,以开启并关闭输出脉冲,从而成生目标方波。所有AMT电容式编码器均采用CMOS推拉式驱动,无需外部电路即可生成目标方波。CMOS驱动输出的另一大优势是它可以兼容任何类型的输入。

  • AMT系列编码器有哪些类型?

    目前,我们提供标准增量编码器绝对值编码器以及适合无刷直流电动机的换相编码器。所有编码器均包含带有索引脉冲的正交A/B信号。编码器有径向和轴向配置,并可选择各种线路驱动器。

  • AMT系列编码器如何应对灰尘、污垢和恶劣环境?

    AMT编码器系列非常坚固,这得益于其基础技术。光学编码器有两大缺点;耐久性和预期寿命。光盘通常由玻璃制成,抗冲击或震动的能力不强,必须小心轻放。此外,如果污垢或微粒粘在光盘上并干扰光信号,信号将会受到影响。另外,如果运行太久,光学编码器中的LED可能会烧毁。

    这些问题,AMT编码器一概没有。由于AMT编码器采用电容技术,因此无需LED或瞄准线。只要允许PCB转子自由旋转,则无论中间是否有任何非导电微粒物质,电场都将从传输方传输至接收方。这意味着,灰尘、污垢、尘垢或您在工业环境中可能发现的几乎任何其他物质都无法影响到AMT编码器。

    AMT编码器省去了光学编码器所需的玻璃光盘,因此更加耐用。摔落、震动或冲击的影响均变小。请参阅AMT产品表,以了解关于冲击和震动测试的更多信息。

  • AMT系列能在齿轮油之类的液体中工作吗?

    即使浸入绝缘液体(如齿轮油)中,AMT编码器也可以正常工作。光学编码器无法在油中正常工作,因为在从传输方传输至接收方的过程中,光线会被阻隔或扭曲。出现这种错误是因为光学编码器需要瞄准线。AMT电容式编码器不使用瞄准线镜片,而是依赖电磁场,因此,非常适合需要将整个部件密封在油中的电动机或齿轮组件。很多光学编码器制造商都会提供一种密封装置,可以用在轴上避免油渗入编码器,但时间一长,这个解决方案就会因为磨损而带来其他潜在问题。

  • 我将AMT10系列编码器与步进电动机配合使用时,为什么会出现问题?

    AMT10系列编码器采用所有AMT产品都有的专用ASIC,但不能与任何类型的MCU配合,以进行绝对位置跟踪。为补偿绝对位置跟踪的缺失,采用“霍尔效应”传感器来生成编码器的索引脉冲。如果没有“霍尔效应”传感器,编码器每转会输出8个索引脉冲。这是因为蚀刻在编码器转子板上的正弦波形;有8个波长,或拉姆达(λ)。AMT10系列编码器根据每转有8个循环或拉姆达的电容式传感器解读其旋转运动。为产生索引脉冲,“霍尔效应”信号会与其最近的波长脉冲合并,产生一次而非八次索引脉冲。

    如果编码器安装至具有杂散强磁场通量的电动机上,索引脉冲便有可能受到影响。如果电动机(通常是步进电动机)所处的强磁场大于40高斯,就可能会影响“霍尔效应”传感器。这会影响八个波长脉冲的浇口,并且每转产生的索引脉冲可能会多于或少于预期。


    AMT时间常数表

    在这种情况下,可以购买没有磁性“霍尔效应”传感器的AMT10系列编码器。在这种配置下,由于没有“霍尔效应”传感器浇口,编码器的索引输出将达到每转8次,如上所示。作为AMT10系列的替代产品,新一代AMT11系列增量编码器利用板载MCU来产生索引脉冲,由此带来的一大好处是,用户在任何角位都能对索引脉冲进行零位调整。

  • 我发现有噪音影响编码器信号,我该怎么做?

    在有些应用中,噪音可能会通过电缆进入AMT编码器。为避免这种噪音,用户应小心操作,以确保所有位置的接地均正确无误。如果有噪音渗入,建议用户尝试屏蔽电缆。电缆屏蔽可以在驱动器端接地,然后,编码器接地可以在电动机端接入并接地。电动机底架如需与驱动器接地隔离,可通过小型电解质电容器对编码器进行电容接地。如果噪音依然存在,请尝试采用差分线路驱动器的CUI编码器,这款编码器非常适合环境嘈杂和电缆距离较长的情况。目前,AMT11和AMT31系列编码器均有多种差分线路驱动器输出配置,适合增量和换相输出。

  • 我能否用粘合剂替代螺丝来安装AMT编码器?

    如果您安装AMT编码器的地方无法钻孔,请使用粘合剂。可以使用任何类型的塑料专用胶或环氧基树脂。使用这种方法进行安装时,我们建议多花一些时间,以确保完全对齐,因为安装过程无法轻易撤销或调整。

  • 您以前提过编码器应设定一个基础分辨率,但我怎样才能从如此宽大的选项范围中选择最终分辨率?

    AMT10系列编码器:

    每个AMT10编码器的背面都有一个4位DIP开关。这样,用户只要调整所开启的开关,即可在16种分辨率中进行选择。请参阅AMT10系列产品表中的可选分辨率表格。

    AMT20系列编码器:

    该编码器的分辨率可通过SPI或AMT20演示板进行编程,后者更为简单。仅需轻按几下按钮,即可通过演示板设定编码器的分辨率。请参阅AMT20系列产品表,以获得关于SPI与AMT20系列编码器搭配使用的更多信息。

    AMT11和AMT31系列编码器:

    借助AMT Insight™ PC软件,可以非常简便地对AMT11和AMT31系列编码器进行编程。借助AMT Insight™应用,您可以轻松选择增量分辨率,以及AMT31换相编码器的电机极对数和旋转方向。不确定自己需要哪种分辨率?借助波形图和计算出的脉冲宽度值,AMT Insight™应用将帮助您确定自己需要的分辨率,脉冲宽度值会在您选择分辨率时自动调整。需要一条AMT编程电缆。

    所有AMT编码器均可自定义预配置为任何现有分辨率。

  • 如何确定位置精度?

    当编码器的旋转速度接近恒速时,输出无误。这是因为设计中包含了移动平均值。该平均值可减少生成输出所需的样品数量,从而帮助稳定输出。在轴旋转的同时,当前位置将以指定速率进行取样,每次取样均会得出一个速度。这个当前速度会存入ASIC中的寄存器,并用于生成输出信号。当编码器以恒速运动时,不会出现错误……然而,如果加入加速度,编码器取样并重新计算速度所需的时间将出现轻微延迟。该延迟所产生的值用位置精度表示,其度量单位是度。ASIC在测量速度变化的同时,也在测量之前的错误值,并将其用于在下一次校正时进行补偿。一切都发生地非常快;AMT编码器的精度通常仅约±0.2度;请参阅编码器产品表,以了解确切数字。

  • 您有没有介绍如何安装AMT编码器的视频?

    是的,我们确实有一些指导视频:

 
Powered By OneLink

Answers

  • How does the AMT line of capacitive encoders work compared to standard optical encoders?

    In an optical encoder, very small LEDs are used to transmit light through a disk with notches at specified intervals. These intervals determine the resolution of the encoder. Once the light passes through the notches, light sensitive receivers receive the signal and send it out as position data.


    AMT time constant diagram

    AMT encoders can be described in a similar manner; but instead of transmitting light via LEDs, an electrical field is transmitted. In the place of an optical disk is a PCB rotor containing a metal trace sinusoidal pattern that modulates the electrical field. The receiving end of the modulated signal is then passed back to the transmitter where it is compared against the original via a proprietary ASIC. Performance of the ASIC is boosted further in many AMT products with the coupling of an onboard MCU. Because of this design, the AMT capacitive encoder allows for a much higher range of accuracy and flexibility compared to other encoders on the market. The rotor PCB is designed for a high resolution of position. This high base resolution allows the ASIC and the MCU to computationally derive a wide range of final resolutions that the customer may select for their solution. Because the resolution selection occurs in the ASIC and MCU, the customer needs only to purchase one part number, yet receives a product capable of many resolutions.


    AMT time constant diagram
  • Will I need to make changes to my system in order to switch from an optical to a capacitive encoder?

    The outputs waveforms of an AMT capacitive encoder have the same characteristics of any optical encoder so the transition should be seamless. Every AMT encoder has quadrature A/B signals as well as an index pulse. These are 5 volt logic waveforms that are 90 degrees out of phase to indicate direction of rotation.

    And in fact, an AMT capacitive encoder may require even less external circuitry than an optical encoder. Many encoders use an open-collector output which leaves the output transistor’s collector floating (neither high nor low). In order to operate the encoder you need a pull-up resistor to pull the signal to the supply voltage, and then the active output will pull the signal down to switch the output pulses on and off to create the expected square waves. All AMT capacitive encoders use a CMOS push-pull drive that does not require external circuitry to create the expected square waves. And the added benefit of a CMOS driven output is its compatibility with any type of input.

  • What types of encoders do you offer in the AMT line?

    We currently offer a standard incremental encoder, an absolute encoder, and a commutation encoder for brushless dc motors. All encoders include quadrature A/B signals with index pulses. Encoders are offered in radial and axial configurations and with various line driver options.

  • How does the AMT series hold up against dust, dirt, and harsh environments?

    The AMT encoder series is quite rugged thanks to the underlying technology. Optical encoders have two main drawbacks; durability and life expectancy. An optical disk is typically made of glass which must be handled very carefully and doesn’t hold up well to any sort of shock or vibration. Furthermore, the signal will be compromised if dirt or particulates get on the disk and interfere with the light signal. Additionally, LEDs inside an optical encoder are susceptible to burn-out over time.

    AMT encoders have neither of these problems. Because they use capacitive technology, they have no need for LEDs or line of sight. As long as the PCB rotor is allowed to rotate freely, the electrical field will pass from the transmitting side to the receiving side regardless of any non-conductive particulate matter in between. This means that dust, dirt, grime, or pretty much anything else you may find in an industrial environment will have no effect on an AMT encoder.

    Without the need for a glass disk that an optical encoder would use, the AMT encoder is much more durable. A drop, vibration, or shock has a reduced effect. Further information regarding shock and vibration testing is available on the AMT datasheets.

  • Will the AMT operate in fluids such as gear oil?

    You can submerge and AMT encoder in a nonconductive fluid such as gear oil and it will operate just the same. Optical encoders do not work in oils because the light is blocked or distorted from the transmitting side to the receiving side. This failure is due to an optical encoder’s requirement for line of sight. Since the AMT capacitive encoder doesn’t use line of sight optics and relies on an electromagnetic field, it makes it ideal for motor or gear assemblies that require the entire unit to be sealed in oil. Many optical encoder manufacturers will offer a seal that can be used on the shaft to block oil from entering the encoder, but this solution introduces another potential failure from wear over time.

  • I am having issues using an AMT10 Series encoder with a stepper motor, why is that?

    The AMT10 series encoder uses the same proprietary ASIC available on all AMT products, but is unassisted by any sort of MCU for absolute position tracking. To compensate for the lack of absolute position tracking, a Hall Effect sensor is used to create the encoder’s index pulse. Without the Hall Effect sensor, the encoder would output 8 index pulses per revolution. This is due to the sinusoidal waveforms etched onto the encoder’s rotor board; there are 8 wavelengths, or lambdas (λ). The AMT10 series encoder interprets its rotational movement based on the capacitive sensors with 8 cycles, or lambdas, per turn. To generate the index pulse, the Hall Effect signal is gated together with its nearest wavelength pulse to generate an index pulse once instead of eight times.

    When the encoder is mounted to a motor with a strong stray magnetic field flux, it is possible for the index pulse to become compromised. If the strong magnetic field is greater than 40 Gauss on the motor (usually stepper motors), it could influence the Hall Effect sensor. This will affect the gating of the eight wavelength pulses and could either create more or fewer index pulses per revolution than are expected.


    AMT time constant diagram

    In this case, an AMT10 series encoder can be purchased without a magnetic Hall Effect sensor. In this configuration the index output from the encoder will occur 8 times per revolution, since there is no Hall Effect sensor gating, as shown above. As an alternative to the AMT10 series, the next-generation AMT11 series incremental encoder utilizes an onboard MCU for generating the index pulse; this has the added bonus of allowing the user to zero-set index pulse at any angular position.

  • I am having some problems with noise affecting my encoder signals; what should I do?

    In some applications noise may leak into and AMT encoder via its cabling. To counter this noise the user should take care to ensure proper grounding at all locations. If noise is leaking in, it is suggested that the user try a shielded cable. The cable shielding can be grounded at the driver end, and then encoder ground can be tapped into and grounded at the motor end. If the motor chassis needs to be isolated from the driver ground, the encoder may be capacitively grounded via a small electrolytic capacitor. If noise persists, CUI offers versions with a differential line driver, ideal for noisy environments and long cabling distances. Currently the AMT11 and AMT31 series encoders are both offered in various differential line driver output configurations for incremental and commutation outputs.

  • Can I use an adhesive to mount an AMT encoder instead of screws?

    If you are mounting an AMT encoder in a location that cannot be drilled into an adhesive can be used. Any sort of glue or epoxy that is meant for use with plastic will be sufficient. We do suggest taking some extra time to ensure proper alignment during installation with this method however since it is not easily undone and adjusted.

  • You mentioned previously that the encoder is set at one base resolution, but how can I select my final resolution from the large range of options?

    AMT10 Series Encoders:

    Each AMT10 encoder has a 4 position DIP switch on the backside. This allows the user to select from 16 resolutions just by adjusting which switches are on. See the AMT10 series datasheet for the table of resolution options.

    AMT20 Series Encoders:

    This encoder’s resolution is programmable via SPI or more easily with the AMT20 Demo Board. Setting the encoder resolution via the demo board is a simple as a few button presses. For more information on using SPI with the AMT20 Series encoder, see the AMT20 Series datasheet.

    AMT11 and AMT31 Series Encoders:

    Programming the AMT11 and AMT31 series encoders is a very simple task using the AMT Insight™ PC software. With the AMT Insight™ application you can easily select your incremental resolution, as well as the motor pole pairs and rotation direction for AMT31 commutation encoders. Not sure what resolution you need? The AMT Insight™ application will help you decide with waveform plots and calculated pulse width values that automatically adjust when you select a resolution. An AMT programming cable is required.

    All AMT encoders can be custom ordered preconfigured to any available resolution.

  • How is position accuracy determined?

    When an encoder is rotating at near constant speed the output has no error. This is due to a design that incorporates what is best described as a moving average. This average helps stabilize by reducing the number of samples required to generate output. As the shaft rotates the current position is sampled at a designated rate and the speed is derived each time. This current velocity is stored into a register in the ASIC and is used to produce the output signals. As the encoder moves as constant speed, there will be no error…but if acceleration is introduced, this causes a slight latency in the time it takes the encoder to sample and recalculate velocity. The value caused by this latency is expressed as the position accuracy and is measured in degrees. As the ASIC measures changes in speed, it also measures the previous error value and uses that to compensate in the next correction that it makes. All of this happens very fast; the accuracy for AMT encoders is typically only around ±0.2 degrees; see encoder datasheets for exact numbers.

  • Do you have any videos showing how to mount an AMT encoder?

    Yes we do have a few instructional videos: